“Mom, Can you Pick Me Up?”

Can you hear me laughing? I’m laughing out loud as I type this. Just thinking about the call I received from my son makes me giggle.

This is an actual conversation. It’s a conversation (lasting only 30 seconds) that I had with my youngest son last week.

Phone rings, mom answers, it’s son #3 (note he is more than 14).

Son: “Mom can you pick me up”
Mom: “What’s the matter, are you ok?, where are you?”
Son: “On the bus”
Mom: “Why do you need me to pick you up”
Son: “It’s raining”
“Click” – sound of mom hanging up the phone.

My darling son thought it was necessary for me, Mom, to start the car and drive the one block away to meet his bus so he wouldn’t have to walk in the rain. You noticed I said one block not one mile right?

I struggle daily with doing things for my children because I love them and not wanting to do too much for them. How often do we have to show tough love just so we don’t overprotect our kids?

Don’t you remember your parents or grandparents telling you they had to walk miles one way to school each day? Can you even imagine allowing our little angels to do that today? Oh my, that would mean they have to get up that much earlier. Nope, they can’t do it!

Back to my story, not to worry my little darling arrived home within minutes of my hanging up on him. He came into a warm house, got something to eat (lots to eat) and forgot all about me not coming to get him at the bus. Crisis avoided for now. I’m sure it’s not the last I’ll worry about not doing what’s best for my kids. That’s because there is no “play book”, no RIGHT way to do everything. We just have to muddle through as best we can and pray that when they’re grown they look back and realize maybe it’s when I didn’t help them that I really helped them the most. Gosh, I hope so.

Please let me know if you’ve had pearls like this with your family or friends. I’d love to hear from you.

God Bless,
Cathi D.

About cathid

Catholic: daughter, sister, wife, mom of five, friend. I love to read, chat, drink coffee, take long walks, chat, watch movies and did I mention chat?
This entry was posted in Catholic Family, Catholic Parenting, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

