If You Are, How Long Have you Been Catholic?

I read an article recently about a Maryland Episcopal parish becoming Catholic. It got me thinking about Catholicism and that maybe it’s on the rise and not the decline anymore.

I don’t know, maybe it’s wishful thinking or wishful praying more than actual fact. As a mother of five children I know all about “go forth and multiply”, but my friends, not so much. I won’t even get into the one child policy in China because there aren’t too many Catholics there, so that didn’t cause a decline in our numbers by much. Get a load of this, “worried about its dwindling numbers, the Roman Catholic Church in southern India is exhorting its flock to have more children, with some parishes offering free schooling, medical care and even cash bonuses for large families” was recently mentioned by the Associated Press.

Anyway, back to my point. I was born Catholic and I guess you can say that I’ve chosen to remain Catholic all of my life. I do know others that made other choices as they got older but I have never felt the desire to even look elsewhere when it comes to my faith or how I wish to “practice” my religion.

Many Catholic Churches have very successful Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults, or RCIA programs in their parishes. It’s wonderful to watch candidates become full members of the Church at the Easter Vigil each year. It’s one of my favorite Masses all year.

So, I began to wonder about others like me who were born Catholic. Have you made a conscious decision to remain Catholic? Have you married someone who wasn’t Catholic and you converted or maybe your spouse did? Share your faith journey I’d love to hear from you.

Please join me in praying for the Episcopal parish in Maryland, that their Congregation grow in the Love of the Lord and the beauty of the Catholic Church.

May God Bless you always!
Cathi D.

About cathid

Catholic: daughter, sister, wife, mom of five, friend. I love to read, chat, drink coffee, take long walks, chat, watch movies and did I mention chat?
This entry was posted in Catholic Family, Catholic Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

