Clare’s Special Strata – a.k.a – My Special Strata

I came upon this recipe back in 2008 (that’s the date I wrote with pencil in the corner of the recipe) in an issue of “The Monitor”, our Diocesan Newspaper.

I loved the idea of not having to take away from the chaos, I mean joy, of the gift wrapping frenzy that goes on Christmas morning in our house. This dish is made the night before, refrigerated overnight and baked in the morning while the chaos, I mean joy, is taking place.

What I like most about this recipe is you can add whatever ingredients you and your family enjoy. I also love that you can throw on some healthy items (broccoli)that go slightly unnoticed because it tastes so good!

This breakfast has become our new family tradition and I hope that when the gifts received and given may be long forgotten, the memory of a breakfast made and shared with love will be remembered. I don’t know who Clare is, but I’m so thankful that she shared this recipe with me. I hope you’ll give it a try.

Clare’s Special Strata

Ingredients:
12 eggs lightly beaten
2 cups milk
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
6-8 pieces of stale bread
cut into 1/2 cubes
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Directions
In buttered 9×13 inch pan, spread the bread cubes then the cheese. Beat the eggs, milk, mustard, salt and pepper and pour over the cheese. Dot with butter and any of your favorite toppings: bacon bits, broccoli, onions, sausage and the like…

Refrigerate overnight.

On Christmas morning, pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees and bake for 45 minutes. Yummy!

About cathid

Catholic: daughter, sister, wife, mom of five, friend. I love to read, chat, drink coffee, take long walks, chat, watch movies and did I mention chat?
This entry was posted in Catholic Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

