The Gift of Life

Just the other day, while donating blood I was thinking about how in less than an hour of my time I may help save someone’s life. That’s awesome isn’t it? I’m not bragging it’s just can you really imagine that in such a short period of time, my giving blood has the ability to save someone’s life?

I started giving blood about twelve years ago. I know this because that’s how old my nephew “Luke” is. Long story short, when my sister was in the hospital to give birth to Luke, he decided he really didn’t want to wait out the labor thing and ruptured her uterus to get out. As a result of this my sister needed three pints of blood (that’s a lot to lose). Thank the good Lord, Luke was fine (big surprise to the doctor) and my sister healed as well. Since that miracle occurred I began giving blood. I was so thankful to the person or persons that gave their blood that was given to my sister that I always thought it was the least I could do.

I do sometime get rejected before donation because my iron tends to be low. I try to remember when I’m going to donate and load up the week before on hamburgers, raisins and try to cut back on the coffee (well not exactly, I eat more raisins).

Just this past weekend, while giving my pint of blood I was told that a local resident of my neighborhood was killed in a car accident on her way to Church. I was very troubled by this and just was humbled by the fact that we truly never do know the day nor the hour when we will be called home to the Lord.

It strengthened my resolve to give of myself, blood, time and talent to the lives of others. It’s really important that we be selfless not selfish while we are upon this earth.

Do you have a story you’d like to share about giving or receiving the gift of life? I’d love to hear from you.

Blessings,
Cathi D.

About cathid

Catholic: daughter, sister, wife, mom of five, friend. I love to read, chat, drink coffee, take long walks, chat, watch movies and did I mention chat?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

