Take Another Look at the Beatitudes

The Beatitudes are seen in the Gospels of both Matthew and Luke. They are delivered by Christ during the Sermon on the Mount. When was the last time you really listened to the words of this prayer? I heard a discussion about them yesterday on a Catholic Radio Station, that I’m so blessed to have in my area. The priest was connecting the Beatitudes to the scripture about the woman at the well (John Chapter 4). I listened to the Beatitudes again and thought about the many times you hear them or read them and think you are praying for others. Yesterday was different. I got the feeling I was being prayed for. Perhaps I am the poor in spirit, I mourn, sometimes I’m the peacemaker. It was so comforting to know that millions (hopefully) say this prayer and it’s for me too. How often do we send up our prayers for others? Can you fathom how many of the prayers said at Church, or quietly before bed could actually be for you? I honestly NEVER thought about this before. I do not lead the most prayerful life but I do try and I try to think of others more than myself. I willingly pray for others before myself. Yesterday was the first time I acknowledged how many other prayers could be sent to God on my behalf. This feeling of gratitude will be with me for a long time. Take another look at the Beatitudes, pray them often, post them in your kitchen, keep them in your wallet. They are a gift.

Blessed are the poor in spirit,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are the meek,
for they shall possess the earth.
Blessed are they who mourn,
for they shall be comforted.
Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for justice,
for they shall be satisfied.
Blessed are the merciful,
for they shall obtain mercy.
Blessed are the clean of heart,
for they shall see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they shall be called children of God.
Blessed are they who suffer persecution for justice’ sake,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are you when men reproach you,
and persecute you,
and speaking falsely, say all manner of evil against you, for My sake.

I think sometimes the Beatitudes are thought to be a prayer for children. I see myself more as an adult needing to say this prayer and understanding the enormity of what it truly means. Is this prayer something you have kept with you since you were young? I must admit I had forgotten about how special and important a prayer it really is.

Blessings,
Cathi D.

About cathid

Catholic: daughter, sister, wife, mom of five, friend. I love to read, chat, drink coffee, take long walks, chat, watch movies and did I mention chat?
This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholic Family, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

